Let The Sky Fall by Shannon Messenger


Hey everyone! Before I start this review, I just want to let you know that I’m on a car ride with my family going to the beach, and since I didn’t bring my computer with me, I figured that I’d download the app. This all goes to say that I apologize is the formatting is weird or different. Anyway, let’s get back to book talk!

Vane Weston should have died in the category-five tornado that killed his parents. Instead, he woke up in a pile of rubble with no memories of his past — except one: a beautiful, dark-haired girl standing in the winds. She swept through his dreams ever since, and he clings to the hope that she’s real.

Audra is real, but she isn’t human. She’s a sylph, an air elemental who can walk on the wind, translate its alluring songs, even twist it into a weapon. She’s also a guardian — Vane’s guardian — and has sworn an oath to protect him at all costs.

When a hasty mistake reveals their location to the enemy who murdered both their families, Audra has just days to help Vane unlock his memories. And as the storm winds gather, Audra and Vane start to realize that the greatest danger might not be the warriors coming to destroy them, but the forbidden romance growing between them. – Goodreads

Let The Sky Fall is a young adult fantasy book, but the way it was written strays from many other fantasy books that I’ve read. This book is written like fiction, and the author makes it seem as though the events in this book could very well happen to you. This book wasn’t one that I was planning to read, but my dad picked it up for my brother to read, buts free he rejected it, I decided to give it a shot, and I’m glad I did. 

On Goodreads I only gave the book four stars. The reason I didn’t give it five stars is because it was a bit slow getting in to it, but honestly learning all about the sylphs and their powers was so cool. It made me want to go out and feel the wind. It was so fun because the day that I was reading this, it was nice a breezy out, so I was able to feel the wind in my hand and I could almost let myself believe that I could control the wind. 

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who’s in the mood for a contemporary fantasy. I actually don’t think that’s a thing, but it is now. It isn’t one of the confusing high fantasy books that have whole new worlds you need to figure out, but the author does an amazing job at world building. 

Let me know any thoughts you have in th comment section. I love hearing from you! Thanks!

-Leah

3 thoughts on “Let The Sky Fall by Shannon Messenger

  1. melissasbookworld

    I’ve got the first and second book on my shelf for a while now and even though I reallllly want to read it I haven’t read it yet .. But I’ll put it on my tbr list for next month. After reading your review I decided I don’t want to put it off any longer

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Pingback: June Wrap-Up, Life Updates, and 4th of July | Leah's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

