Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas

Hey guys! I figured it was time to do another book review finally, so here it goes! As usual, I’ll start with a spoiler-free section before moving along to the good stuff.

Let me start out by saying that if you haven’t read Sarah J Maas’s Throne of Glass series yet, you are seriously missing out. Since I don’t want to spoil the first two books, I’m going to tell you a little bit about Throne of Glass. Throne of Glass is a high-fantasy novel about an assassin names Celaena Sardothien. The books starts out with Celeana in the salt mines of Endovier, but the book progresses very quickly, and she is soon taken out of the Endovier to participate in the king’s deadly contest. In this contest, the winner will be named the best assassin, and will be crowned as the kings champion. As the kings champion, that assassin will have to kill who ever the king tells him to, and after a certain amount of years, they would be freed. This book follows Celeana’s journey from the salt mines to the palace, and her personal battle to become the kings champion.

I would highly recommend this series, but it is pretty complicated if you aren’t in the mood for a high fantasy. The world that Sarah J Maas builds up is so beautiful and complex, and I am super glad that she is writing six books to tell Celeana’s story.

That’s it for the non spoiler section! Anyone who doesn’t want to be spoiled should leave and go read the book so you can come back and fangirl/boy with me!

Spoilers starting in 3

2

1

Hey everyone! Welcome to the spoiler section! I’m not going to waste any time explaining the plot line to you because it’s pretty complicated, so I’m just going to assume that because you’re here, you’ve already read the book.

Let’s start by talking about Celeana’s different names. For the sake of this review I’m going to stick with just using Celeana, but I think it’s important to address the fact that all of Celeana’s names hold so much different meaning. Celeana is who the book starts out with, a brutal assassin who was trained by Arobynn Hamel and has learned to close herself off from her emotions and shut down her fears. Then she is name Elentiya by Nehemia, and that is symbolic of their friendship. They really formed a close bond, and their friendship is so powerful. Finally we meet Aelin, who is the original Celeana, and when we finally get to hear what happened that night. Wow! But hold on, I’m going off tangent here. Aelin is a Fae princess, until everything changes.

The book starts with a chapter starring the witches. At first, I wasn’t in love with them. I kind of found myself skimming through their first few chapters, but once we got to meet the Wyverns, I was hooked. Manon seemed like such an arrogant, heartless character, but once we get to see her interacting with Abraxos, both Manon and the readers realized that maybe Manon wasn’t completely heartless. Once she saves the blueblood heir, that was a total verification of my feelings, and I’m so excited to see more of them in the next book. The thing that I’m nervous for is the fact that the witches are fighting for the king, which means that eventually Manon will have to face off with Celeana and I feel like that can only end badly.

Rowan was kind of the same way. When we first meet him, he’s so stuck up and mean, but once Celeana breaks through his shell, they form a really close bond. I thought it was so interesting how Rowans wind and air powers were paired up with Celeana’s fire powers because instead of adding to her fire, Rowan is able to suffocate it. I was starting to ship Rowan with Celeana, because he recognizes and accepts her for who she really is, but things never really got romantic between them during this book. Maybe we’ll see some romance, maybe not. One of my favorite parts was how Rowan cared for Celeana after her burn out. I loved watching him take care of her, and I thought it was so sweet how much he cares about her. When Celeana and Rowan start sharing a room, they had so much opportunity to turn the intimate situation into something romantic, but they never did, so I don’t really think Rowaelin is going to happen.

When Celeana was fighting with the demon prince things to protect the demi-fae, they fed on her bad memories, so we finally got to see what really happened on that night that her parents died. Hearing about Lady Marion’s sacrifice for Celeana made me understand how much more Nehemia’s sacrifice meant to Celeana. I still have trouble getting over Nehemia’s death, and whenever it’s mentioned, I still tend to tear up a bit. Then when she saw a bunch of dead people saying, “Get up, get up.” Wow. That was a really powerful scene. Can we also talk about the fact that Celeana and Rowan are basically parabatai? I can’t remember what this book called them, but I call them parabatai.

I also need to talk about Sorcha really fast. When I first read about her relationship with Dorian it gave me some Red Queen vibes. The prince and the servant falling in love, that sort of thing but they were both totally different so I don’t know why I felt that way. Once Sorcha and Dorian’s relationship got into full swing, I think we could all sense a heartbreak coming. But once Sorcha dies, Dorian unleashes his powers to save Chaol. The book ends on a huge cliffhanger, with Dorian under his fathers control and Aedion sentenced to death. I’m still really hoping that Aedion and Celeana get to reunite at least once, but I have a pretty bad feeling about it.

In the next book, I think that they need to find a way to break one of the obsidian towers because then all the magic will hopefully be unleashed, leading to a giant and really cool war. Celeana is going to have to save Dorian and Aedion, but I don’t think Rowan is going to go with her, since magic isn’t working in Adarlan. I don’t know what’s going to happen! I can’t wait to read the next book in the series!

What did you think of this book? Who do you ship Celeana with? Let me know in the comments!

-Leah

3 thoughts on “Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas

  1. Bound to Be Me

    I keep going back and forth about reading the second book in this series. I enjoyed the first but there were also aspects that irritated me. I’m not sure..

    Like

    Reply
  2. sue's reading corner

    I loved this book! I was really into it by the middle that I barely paid any attention to the outside world. 🙂 Who do I ship Calaena with? To be honest, I really liked Rowan, but I’m not going to put my hopes up… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

