Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Red_Queen

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard is a young adult fantasy novel. Red Queen takes place in a dystopian universe where the world is divided by blood type. The Reds are considered underdeveloped, and either have to get a job, work as slaves, or get drafted into the army when they turn eighteen. The Silvers have special powers, and are considered to be like royalty. The Silvers are in a much higher social class then the Reds. Just before Mare Barrows eighteenth birthday, she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. When she trips and falls onto an electric shield, Mare discovers that despite her Red Blood, she has powers of her own. The royal family fears her potential and decides to present her as a long lost Red princess. When Mare becomes betrothed to the younger Silver prince, she is walking on thin ice. Despite the fact that one misstep could lead to her demise, she begins working for the Red Guard, a secret resistance group. Throughout the novel Mare learns that anyone could betray anyone.

I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars because while the idea of the novel was really cool, I feel like it didn’t really get anywhere. I really enjoyed parts of this book, and I’m definitely going to read the next book, but the conclusion left something to be desired. This book had an abundance of twists and turns, and was filled with major plot twists. I felt like I was on a roller coaster while reading this book, and I didn’t love it. I was so excited to read this, and it just wasn’t as amazing as I expected it to be from all the hype. The thing is, I shipped Mare and Maven so hard. That was a fail.

-Leah

3 thoughts on “Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

  1. amortalreader1

    Great Post Leah. Red Queens been sat on my TBR pile for a while so I think I best pick it up next and finally give it a go. I’m glad you found that it had a variety of plot twists, I always like a book that can shock me or take a different turn to what I expect!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Pingback: The Snack Food Book Tag! | Leah's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

