City of Fallen Angels by: Cassandra Clare

Two nights ago, I finished reading City of Fallen Angels by: Cassandra Clare. Honestly, I was kind of disappointed. I hate writing negative reviews, but this book didn’t really live up to my expectations. After reading the first three books in the Mortal Instruments series, I was surprised to hear that there were more books. I thought that the first three books were amazing, and I loved, and still do love, all of the characters in these books, but I was disappointed when I read City of Fallen Angels. I don’t want to say that I didn’t enjoy the book, because I did, just not as much as the other ones. during the middle of the book, I was in love but that feeling didn’t last.

I don’t know if I disliked the book as a whole, or am just mad about the ending, but I would give this book a three out of five stars. I did have trouble getting in to the book, but once I got hooked, I couldn’t put it down. The ending was amazing, and I was sad to put down the book, but it was okay because I realized that the book wasn’t over yet! I still had a few more pages to go before the real ending. The sad part is that those last few pages really ruined it for me. I am really upset that Ms. Clare feels the need to pick on Jace again. Hasn’t he been through enough already? I definitely will continue to finish the series because I do want to find out what happens (but mostly because I already bought the next book), and will let you know what I think of those.

Overall, I would say that this book made for a good story, but the ending didn’t satisfy me or give me that peaceful feeling that I usually get after finishing a book. I also feel like it could have been written a little better. I found myself questioning Ms. Clare’s word choices multiple times throughout the book. As I mentioned before, I did love the first three Mortal Instruments books, and I hope that I can enjoy the rest of the series.

-Leah

Leave a Reply

