An Ember in the Ashes by: Sabaa Tahir

Recently my family and I went on a road trip to a beach resort. While at the resort, I finished reading An Ember in the Ashes, a book written by Sabaa Tahir. An Ember in the Ashes was an epic fantasy novel, following Laia and Elias, two teenagers under the rulership of the martial empire. Laia and Elias become unlikely friends as the story unwinds and Laia becomes a slave to Elias’ mother, a cruel woman who tried to give up her son when he was a baby. Elias is a soldier in his last year of training, who secretly wishes to be freed from his brutal fate.

I would give this book five out of five stars. I thought this book was very well written and would recommend it to any book lovers out their. Even with all of the distractions around me, when I was reading this book, I became thoroughly emersed in the world of Elias and Laia. Tahir writes about a fantasy world, filled with sorcery and sprinkled with dark magic, yet still makes her characters very relatable to us. An Ember in the Ashes takes on a life of it’s own, without following any of the classic story lines that we are so accustomed to. This book was filled with heroes that we love to love and villains that we love to hate. An Ember in the Ashes was, without a doubt, one of the best books (and only books) that I read this year. I can’t wait to read the next book!

Leave a Reply

